Skip to main content

Chao Lectureship Community Lecture: "Conquering COVID-19 and Cancer"

Wednesday, February 24, 2021, 6:00PM – 7:00PM

The lecture series is named in honor of the Chao family patriarch, the late H. H. Chao and provides a forum to share and discuss topics related to cancer research, prevention and treatment. Each year the lectureship hosts an internationally renowned leader in cancer research, who delivers a technical colloquium in addition to a public lecture. Both lectures are free and open to the public.

Featured Speaker

Ronald A. DePinho, MD
Ronald A. DePinho, MD
  • Professor, Department of Cancer Biology, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center


Internationally renowned physician-scientist, Ronald A. DePinho, M.D. is Professor and Past President at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. He holds the Harry Graves Burkhart III Distinguished University Chair in Cancer Research. He has made groundbreaking discoveries that have illuminated fundamental mechanisms of cancer, aging and age-associated degenerative disorders, and has devoted his life to reducing the burden of cancer, particularly for the underserved.

Dr. DePinho’s efforts to impact the cancer problem have ranged from conducting innovative research, pioneering the development and use of mouse models of human cancer and of aging, educating the next generation of physicians and scientists, promoting public health through advocacy and policy, founding new biopharmaceutical companies, and catalyzing cross-sector collaborative programs such as MD Anderson’s Cancer Moon Shots Program which inspired the national cancer moonshot. He is co-founder and Vice Chair of Act for NIH which has successfully advocated for increased research funding for the NIH and is co-founder and Chairman of Opa Health which is focused on disease prevention in underserved communities.

For his significant contributions to cancer, aging and healthcare, Dr. DePinho has received numerous honors and awards including Portuguese knighthood and the Ellis Island Medal of Honor. He is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Science, and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association of the Advancement of Science and the American Association of Cancer Research.