logo Click here for the Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center Home Page Click here for the UC Irvine Home Page

Senior Leadership

Executive decision making is vested in the Senior Leadership Council, which is chaired by the Director and includes the Deputy Director and Associate Directors as well as senior advisors and other key institutional leaders.

Van Etten


Richard Van Etten, MD, PhD
Director, Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
Chao Family Endowed Director’s Chair in Cancer Research & Treatment
Professor of Medicine and Biological Chemistry
Senior Associate Dean & Associate Vice Chancellor for Cancer
University of California, Irvine

Academic Bio | Clinical Bio


Deputy Director 

Marian Waterman, PhD
Professor of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
Director, Cancer Research Institute

Academic Bio


Associate Director for Clinical Science

Susan O’Brien, MD
Medical Director, Sue & Ralph Stern Center for Clinical Trials & Research
Chao Family Endowed Chair for Cancer Clinical Science
Professor of Medicine

Academic Bio | Clinical Bio


Associate Director for Basic Science

David Fruman, PhD
Associate Director, Cancer Research Institute
Professor, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry

Academic Bio 


Associate Director for Population Science & Cancer Control

Karen Edwards, PhD
Chair, Department of Epidemiology
Professor of Epidemiology


Associate Director for Cancer Research Training & Education

Edward Nelson, MD
Chief, Division of Hematology/Oncology
Associate Professor of Medicine and Molecular Biology & Biochemistry

Academic Bio | Clinical Bio


Associate Director for Cancer Health Disparities & Community Engagement

Sora Park Tanjasiri, DrPH, MPH
Professor of Epidemiology

Academic Bio


Associate Director for Administration & Finance

Christine Hui, MPH

Advisors and Institutional Representatives

Geoff Abbott, MSC, PhD
Vice Dean for Basic Science Research, School of Medicine
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Personnel
Daniela Bota, MD, PhD
Vice Dean for Clinical Research, School of Medicine
Chief Scientific Officer for the Center of Clinical Research (CCR)
Director of the Alpha Stem Clinic (ASCC)
Allen Chen, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
Dan Cooper, MD
Associate Vice Chancellor for Clinical and Translational Science
Director, Institute for Clinical and Translational Sciences
Professor of Pediatrics
Emad Elquza, MD, MBA
Medical Director of Oncology Services
Hung Fan, PhD
Senior Advisor
Associate Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives, Office of Research
Professor Emeritus of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Frank Meyskens, MD
Director Emeritus, Cancer Center
Professor of Medicine, Biological Chemistry and Public Health
Suzanne Sandmeyer, PhD
Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine
Maheswari 'Maggi' Senthil, MD, FACS
Professor of Surgery
Director of Peritoneal Surface Malignancy Program
Division of Surgical Oncology
Ashley Tydon
Administrative Director, Clinical Research Operations
Sandra Masson, RN, MSN
Senior Director, Oncology Clinical Services
Caroline Pereira, MBA
Executive Director of Development, Cancer Programs
Manilyn Matau, MBA
Director of Administrative Programs
Internal Contact: manilynd@hs.uci.edu